Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) refers to a system of school based evaluation of a student that covers all aspects of a student development. It is a developmental process of student which emphasizes on two fold objectives. These objectives are continuity in evaluation and assessment of broad based learning and behaviourial outcomes on the other. The term ‘continuous’ is meant to emphasise that evaluation of identified aspects of students ‘growth and development’ is a continuous process rather than an event, built into the total teaching-learning process and spread over the entire span of academic session. It means regularity of assessment, frequency of unit testing, diagnosis of learning gaps, use of corrective measures, retesting and feedback of evidence to teachers and students for their self evaluation.

The Features OF CCE are :

􀂄 The ‘continuous’ aspect of CCE takes care of ‘continual’ and ‘periodicity’ aspect of evaluation
􀂄 Continual means assessment of students in the beginning of instructions (placement evaluation) and assessment during the
instructional process (formative evaluation) done informally using multiple techniques of evaluation
􀂄 Periodicity means assessment of performance done frequently at the end of unit/term (summative evaluation)
􀂄 The ‘comprehensive’ component of CCE takes care of assessment of all round development of the child’s personality. It includes
assessment in Scholastic as well as Co-Scholastic aspects of the pupil’s growth
􀂄 Scholastic aspects include curricular areas or subject specific areas, whereas Co-Scholastic aspects include Life Skills, Co-Curricular Activities, Attitudes and Values
􀂄 Assessment in Scholastic areas is done informally and formally using multiple techniques of evaluation continually and
periodically. The diagnostic evaluation takes place at the end of unit/term test. The causes of poor performance in some units are
diagnosed using diagnostic tests. These are followed with appropriate interventions followed by retesting
􀂄 Assessment in Co-Scholastic areas is done using multiple techniques on the basis of identified criteria, while assessment in
Life Skills is done on the basis of Indicators of Assessment and Checklists

Source - Examination Reforms, NCERT

Evaluation of Scholastic aspect:
Part 1: Scholastic Areas
Evaluation of Academic Subjects in Classes VI to VIII.
Six assessments are proposed:

Total: Formative Assessments (FA) = FA1+FA2+ FA3+FA4 = 40%
Summative Assessments (SA) = SA1+SA2 = 60%
Assessment of Scholastic attainments Part 1 will be reported twice in a year.

Grading Scale

The nine point grading scale for measuring Scholastic achievements is GIVEN BELOW :